Discover new books by British-Asian authors

View new books below or click 'Upcoming' to set your own date range

Views Navigation

Book Views Navigation

Today

I’m A Fan

In I'm A Fan, single speaker uses the story of their experience in a seemingly unequal, unfaithful relationship as a prism through which to examine the complicated hold we each have on […]

The Cook

Kamil Rahman is a cook in a Brick Lane restaurant. But he used to be a detective back in Kolkata. And somehow trouble still knows how to find him. When […]

Winston Churchill: His Times, His Crimes

The subject of numerous biographies and history books, Winston Churchill has been repeatedly voted as one of the greatest of Englishmen. Even today, Boris Johnson in his failing attempts to […]

Wild Fires

Grief is like an inside joke: you have to have been there to really get it. The only things Cassandra knows about her family are the stories she’s heard in […]

Consumed: In Search of my Sister

All happy families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way. When Arifa Akbar discovered that her sister had fallen seriously ill, she assumed there would be […]

The Blood Divide

The last thing Jack Baxi expected when a detective rang his doorbell in the middle of the night was that he'd be tortured and left for dead, with a young […]

Next of Kin

On an ordinary working day… Leila Syed receives a call that cleaves her life in two. Her brother-in-law’s voice is filled with panic. His son’s nursery has called to ask […]

When Shadows Fall

The Times' Best Books for Children 2021 "How quickly teenagers fall apart – and how fast they can heal. This is the hopeful message from Sita Brahmachari, a writer who […]

The Dance Tree

Strasbourg, 1518. In the midst of a blisteringly hot summer, a lone woman begins to dance in the city square. She dances for days without pause or rest, and as […]

Life is Sad and Beautiful

'I remember the day I wrote my first ever poem, I was sitting on my bed in the attic and started jotting down lines on this little notepad, little did […]

Diary of a Film

An auteur, together with his lead actors, is at a prestigious European festival to premiere his latest film. Alone one morning at a backstreet café, he strikes up a conversation […]

The Startup Wife

A life-changing app.The woman who created it.And the man who took the credit. When Asha starts work on a revolutionary app together with her new husband Cyrus, she's thrilled. But […]

The Giant Dark

She was never meant to be an ordinary woman, reading out her history as if it belonged to us. She was more than that. She was the way of learning […]

These Impossible Things

These Impossible Things charts the dreams and disappointments of a group of British Muslim women; Jenna, Kees and Malak. They have been friends for years: the three of them together […]

Things We Do Not Tell the People We Love

A breathtaking collection of stories about our most intimate relationships: the misunderstandings between families, the silences between friends and the dissonance between lovers. Set between the blossoming countryside of England, […]

The Shadows of Men

Calcutta, 1923 When a Hindu theologian is found murdered in his home, the city is on the brink of all-out religious war. Can officers of the Imperial Police Force, Captain […]

Still Lives

The glow of my cigarette picks out a dark shape lying on the ground. I bend down to take a closer look. It’s a dead sparrow. I wondered if I […]

The Halfways

Nasrin and Sabrina are two sisters, who on the face of things live successful and enviable lives in London and New York. When their father, Shamsur suddenly dies, they rush […]

All I Said Was True

When Amy Blahn was murdered on a London office rooftop, Layla Mahoney was there. She held Amy as she died. But all she can say when police arrest her is […]

Rosie Raja: Churchill’s Spy

A thrilling and empowering WWII adventure about the French resistance and their British allies, with a determined, mixed-race heroine. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Emma Carroll, and those […]

The Worst Class in the World Goes Wild!

A laugh-out-loud young fiction series from bestselling author Joanna Nadin, perfect for fans of Horrid Henry. Head teacher Mrs Bottomley-Blunt thinks 4B is the WORST CLASS IN THE WORLD. She […]

(un)interrupted tongues

Dal Kular is a Sheffield born and based writer of Punjabi/Sikh heritage. She is a facilitator, tutor and mentor specialising in creative writing arts for healing. (un)interrupted tongues unfolds Kular’s […]

Being You: A New Science of Consciousness

Anil Seth's radical new theory of consciousness challenges our understanding of perception and reality, doing for brain science what Dawkins did for evolutionary biology. Being You is not as simple as […]

South Asian Folktales, Myths and Legends

A beautiful new edition of retellings - including tales from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Bhutan! Enjoy a rich collection of folktales, myths and legends from all over […]

Face

In Joma West's Face, Margaret Atwood meets Kazuo Ishiguro in this sci-fi domestic drama that reimagines race and class in a genetically engineered society fed by performative fame. How much […]

Edgware Road

A wide-ranging novel about family and identity, from an award-winning historian. 1981: Khalid Quraishi feels like one of the lucky ones. Working in the glitzy West End by night and […]

Ugly

We've all had those moments. The ones where you look in the mirror and nothing feels ok looking back at you. For Anita Bhagwandas, this started when she was a […]

Good Intentions

An unforgettable debut novel about first love, family obligation and finding your way. As Nur’s family counts down to midnight on New Year’s Eve, Nur is watching the clock more […]

Her

You watch her. You want to be just like her. But do you really know her? Rani's life is far from idyllic – with two small children and a partner […]

Note: We use Amazon affiliate links and earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. This goes back into the running of Asian Booklist.