Discover new books by British-Asian authors

View new books below or click 'Upcoming' to set your own date range

Views Navigation

Book Views Navigation

Today

Sex Bomb: The Life and Loves of an Asian Babe

Sadia Azmat has many different sides to her, she is the good Muslim sister and the loud and proud comedian, she is the quiet and loving friend and the horny and outspoken one. So why does everyone put her in a box and expect her to choose between one or the other? In a life […]

The Startup Wife

A life-changing app.The woman who created it.And the man who took the credit. When Asha starts work on a revolutionary app together with her new husband Cyrus, she's thrilled. But while she creates an ingenious algorithm, Cyrus' charismatic appeal throws him into the spotlight. What happens when the app explodes into the next big thing? […]

The Right to Sex: The Sunday Times Bestseller

How should we talk about sex? It is a thing we have and also a thing we do; a supposedly private act laden with public meaning; a personal preference shaped by outside forces; a place where pleasure and ethics can pull wildly apart. Since #MeToo many have fixed on consent as the key framework for […]

Strong Female Lead: Rethinking Leadership in a World Gone Wrong

Women have been taught to 'lean in' and act like men to get ahead. But as the financial, environmental, and social systems crumble, isn't it time we had a different plan? The first two decades of the twenty-first century have seen financial collapse, a global pandemic, the devastation of our environment and the disintegration of […]

The Full Diet: The revolutionary new way to achieve lasting weight loss

Do you want to lose weight and keep it off for good? The Full Diet is a pioneering weight-loss programme based on cutting-edge science. However much weight you want to lose - from a few pounds to several stone - this diet is clinically proven to work and to keep the weight off. In this […]

The Giant Dark

She was never meant to be an ordinary woman, reading out her history as if it belonged to us. She was more than that. She was the way of learning the world. It was the last time most of us would see her but we didn't know that then. Aida is the defining rock star […]

These Impossible Things

These Impossible Things charts the dreams and disappointments of a group of British Muslim women; Jenna, Kees and Malak. They have been friends for years: the three of them together against the world. Yet one night changes everything between them and they are left adrift, marooned from each other as their lives take different paths. […]

Things We Do Not Tell the People We Love

A breathtaking collection of stories about our most intimate relationships: the misunderstandings between families, the silences between friends and the dissonance between lovers. Set between the blossoming countryside of England, the South of France and Tuscany, and the bustling cities of London and Lahore, Things We Do Not Tell The People We Love shines a […]

The Shadows of Men

Calcutta, 1923 When a Hindu theologian is found murdered in his home, the city is on the brink of all-out religious war. Can officers of the Imperial Police Force, Captain Sam Wyndham and Sergeant Surendranath Banerjee track down those responsible in time to stop a bloodbath? Set at a time of heightened political tension, beginning […]

Still Lives

The glow of my cigarette picks out a dark shape lying on the ground. I bend down to take a closer look. It’s a dead sparrow. I wondered if I had become that bird, disoriented and lost.’ Young, handsome and contemptuous of his father’s traditional ways, PK Malik leaves Bombay to start a new life […]

Cut Short: Youth Violence, Loss and Hope in the City

Demetri wants to study criminology at university to understand why people around him carry knives. Jhemar is determined to advocate for his community following the murder of a loved one. Carl's exclusion leaves him vulnerable to the sinister school-to-prison pipeline, but he is resolute to defy expectations. Tony, the tireless manager of a community centre, […]

Searching for Jamila: Band 18/Pearl 

Collins Big Cat supports every primary child on their reading journey from phonics to fluency. Top authors and illustrators have created fiction and non-fiction books that children love to read. Book banded for guided and independent reading, there are reading notes in the back, comprehensive teaching and assessment support and ebooks available. Matt and Alex […]

In Case Of Emergency

Bel Kumar wakes up in hospital surprised and confused. Surprised to be told she had a near-fatal accident outside work. And confused as to why her ex-boyfriend is by her bedside. Bel's HR record still lists her ex as her next of kin, but she can't think of a less appropriate person to nurse her […]

Stitched Up: Stories of life and death from a prison doctor

Dr Shahed Yousaf is a prison doctor dedicated to caring for people on the margins of society. An outsider on the inside, in Stitched Up he introduces us to a cast of unforgettable characters, including killers, con men and auto-cannibals. To Dr Yousaf, they are patients first and prisoners second - because any one of […]

The Secret Diary of a British Muslim Aged 13 3/4

In this suitably dramatic rollercoaster of a teenage memoir, Tez takes us back to where it all began: a working class, insular British Asian Muslim community in his hometown of post-Thatcher Blackburn. Meet Ammi (Mum), Baji Rosey (the older sister), Shibz (the fashionable cousin), Was (the cool cousin), Shiry (the cleverest cousin) and a community […]

The Movement

With words come power. But do you speak out or shut up? Everywhere Sara Javed goes – online or outside – everyone is shouting about something. Couldn't they all just shut up? One day she takes her own advice. At first people don't understand her silence and are politely confused at best. But the last […]

All I Said Was True

When Amy Blahn was murdered on a London office rooftop, Layla Mahoney was there. She held Amy as she died. But all she can say when police arrest her is that 'It was Michael. Find Michael and you'll find out everything you need to know.' The problem is, the police can't find Michael - there […]

Hidden Lessons: Growing Up on the Frontline of Teaching

You're in at 7am, there until 7pm and marking into the late hours. You've got one student who's a full time carer, another who's pregnant, and a third who's just joined a gang. You haven't got enough textbooks to go around, and one of the parents just called you an 'extremist'. You've just gone through […]

Face

In Joma West's Face, Margaret Atwood meets Kazuo Ishiguro in this sci-fi domestic drama that reimagines race and class in a genetically engineered society fed by performative fame. How much is your Face worth? Schuyler and Madeleine Burroughs have the perfect Face--rich and powerful enough to assure their dominance in society. But in SchAddie's household, […]

Rosie Raja: Churchill’s Spy

A thrilling and empowering WWII adventure about the French resistance and their British allies, with a determined, mixed-race heroine. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Emma Carroll, and those looking for diverse historical fiction. July, 1941. Rosina Raja is half-Indian and half-English. She has always lived in India, so when her mother passes away […]

There’s a Dog in My Brain: Dog Show Disaster

Second canine bodyswap caper featuring Danny – the boy trapped in a dog's body – and Dudley – the hapless dog who's hopeless at being human. Dudley the dog is tired of getting told off, but when he wishes he could sneak some cakes from the kitchen without getting caught, he isn't expecting to transform […]

Hidden Heritage: Rediscovering Britain’s Lost Love of the Orient

A fresh perspective on British history from award-winning broadcaster Fatima Manji Deep within the Foreign & Commonwealth Office, where British foreign policy is shaped and enacted, is an ornate central chamber: the Durbar Court. In a grand house off Hyde Park, the eighteenth-century sword of an Indian Sultan lies amidst tapestries and oil paintings. For […]

The Lost Man of Bombay (The Malabar House Series)

Bombay, 1950 When the body of a white man is found frozen in the Himalayan foothills near Dehra Dun, he is christened the Ice Man by the national media. Who is he? How long has he been there? Why was he killed? As Inspector Persis Wadia and Metropolitan Police criminalist Archie Blackfinch investigate the case […]

The Worst Class in the World Goes Wild!

A laugh-out-loud young fiction series from bestselling author Joanna Nadin, perfect for fans of Horrid Henry. Head teacher Mrs Bottomley-Blunt thinks 4B is the WORST CLASS IN THE WORLD. She says school is not about footling or fiddle-faddling or FUN. It is about LEARNING and it is high time 4B tried harder to EXCEL at […]

The Man from the Future: The Visionary Life of John von Neumann

The smartphones in our pockets and computers like brains. The vagaries of game theory and evolutionary biology. Nanotechnology and nuclear weapons. All bear the fingerprints of one remarkable man: John von Neumann. Born in Budapest at the turn of the century, von Neumann is one of the most influential scientists to have ever lived. His […]

They: What Muslims and Non-Muslims Get Wrong About Each Other

Sarfraz Manzoor grew up in a working-class Pakistani Muslim family in Luton - where he was raised to believe that they were different, they had an alien culture and they would never accept him. They were white people. In today's deeply divided Britain we are often told they are different, they have a different culture […]

Being You: A New Science of Consciousness

Anil Seth's radical new theory of consciousness challenges our understanding of perception and reality, doing for brain science what Dawkins did for evolutionary biology. Being You is not as simple as it sounds. Somehow, within each of our brains, billions of neurons work to create our conscious experience. How does this happen? Why do we experience […]

The Race to the Top: Structural Racism and How to Fight It

A powerful, campaigning intervention by one of Britain’s most senior law enforcers, roundly debunking the myth of progress in racial equality ― particularly in the workplace ― and offering a blueprint for the future. Have you ever wondered why, as Britain becomes more diverse, so many of our leaders come from the same narrow pool? […]

Edgware Road

A wide-ranging novel about family and identity, from an award-winning historian. 1981: Khalid Quraishi feels like one of the lucky ones. Working in the glitzy West End by night and spending time with his beautiful wife and daughter by day, he's a world away from the life he left behind in Karachi. But Khalid likes […]

Thirty Things I Love About Myself

When Nina Mistry hits rock bottom - because no one plans to turn thirty in a prison cell - a tatty little self-help book finds its way into her hands. She doesn't think she needs it; why would a strong, sensible Taurus like her go on a 'life-changing journey' to fix herself? But her inner […]

Ugly

We've all had those moments. The ones where you look in the mirror and nothing feels ok looking back at you. For Anita Bhagwandas, this started when she was a child growing up in South Wales, and it created an enduring internal torment about her looks. We're all told that this sadness is just part […]

Her

You watch her. You want to be just like her. But do you really know her? Rani's life is far from idyllic – with two small children and a partner in a tiny rented flat that has never felt like home, she has always wished for a different life. Then, Natalie moves into the large […]

Note: We use Amazon affiliate links and earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. This goes back into the running of Asian Booklist.