Discover new books by British-Asian authors

View new books below or click 'Upcoming' to set your own date range

Views Navigation

Book Views Navigation

Today

Hidden Heritage: Rediscovering Britain’s Relationship with the Orient

A fresh perspective on British history from award-winning broadcaster Fatima Manji Deep within the Foreign & Commonwealth Office, where British foreign policy is shaped and enacted, is an ornate central chamber: the Durbar Court. In a grand house off Hyde Park, the eighteenth-century sword of an Indian Sultan lies amidst tapestries and oil paintings. For […]

The Worst Class in the World Goes Wild!

A laugh-out-loud young fiction series from bestselling author Joanna Nadin, perfect for fans of Horrid Henry. Head teacher Mrs Bottomley-Blunt thinks 4B is the WORST CLASS IN THE WORLD. She says school is not about footling or fiddle-faddling or FUN. It is about LEARNING and it is high time 4B tried harder to EXCEL at […]

(un)interrupted tongues

Dal Kular is a Sheffield born and based writer of Punjabi/Sikh heritage. She is a facilitator, tutor and mentor specialising in creative writing arts for healing. (un)interrupted tongues unfolds Kular’s creative journey and life as a working-class woman of colour. Written and created intuitively, Kular seeks to unravel the past, in order to understand the […]

Let’s Talk: How to Have Better Conversations

How do you talk to someone who doesn't want to talk to you?What happens in the brain when we're having a good conversation?What have smartphones done to how we connect? Conversations are broken. And while effective dialogue is supposed to lead to greater fulfilment in our personal and professional lives, all the scientific evidence points […]

The Man from the Future: The Visionary Life of John von Neumann

The smartphones in our pockets and computers like brains. The vagaries of game theory and evolutionary biology. Nanotechnology and nuclear weapons. All bear the fingerprints of one remarkable man: John von Neumann. Born in Budapest at the turn of the century, von Neumann is one of the most influential scientists to have ever lived. His […]

They: What Muslims and Non-Muslims Get Wrong About Each Other

Sarfraz Manzoor grew up in a working-class Pakistani Muslim family in Luton - where he was raised to believe that they were different, they had an alien culture and they would never accept him. They were white people. In today's deeply divided Britain we are often told they are different, they have a different culture […]

Being You: A New Science of Consciousness

Anil Seth's radical new theory of consciousness challenges our understanding of perception and reality, doing for brain science what Dawkins did for evolutionary biology. Being You is not as simple as it sounds. Somehow, within each of our brains, billions of neurons work to create our conscious experience. How does this happen? Why do we experience […]

South Asian Folktales, Myths and Legends

A beautiful new edition of retellings - including tales from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Bhutan! Enjoy a rich collection of folktales, myths and legends from all over South Asia, re-told for young readers. This book includes traditional favourites such as the story of Rama and Sita and classic folktales and mythology. Includes: […]

Face

In Joma West's Face, Margaret Atwood meets Kazuo Ishiguro in this sci-fi domestic drama that reimagines race and class in a genetically engineered society fed by performative fame. How much is your Face worth? Schuyler and Madeleine Burroughs have the perfect Face--rich and powerful enough to assure their dominance in society. But in SchAddie's household, […]

The Race to the Top: Structural Racism and How to Fight It

A powerful, campaigning intervention by one of Britain’s most senior law enforcers, roundly debunking the myth of progress in racial equality ― particularly in the workplace ― and offering a blueprint for the future. Have you ever wondered why, as Britain becomes more diverse, so many of our leaders come from the same narrow pool? […]

Edgware Road

A wide-ranging novel about family and identity, from an award-winning historian. 1981: Khalid Quraishi feels like one of the lucky ones. Working in the glitzy West End by night and spending time with his beautiful wife and daughter by day, he's a world away from the life he left behind in Karachi. But Khalid likes […]

Sunny: the dazzling debut novel by comedian, writer and actor Sukh Ojla

This actually is a love story, just not the one Sunny was looking for . . . Sunny is the queen of living a double life. To her friends, she's the entertaining, eternally upbeat, single one, always on hand to share hilarious and horrifying date stories. But while they're all settling down with long-term partners […]

Love Marriage: A BBC 2 Between the Covers Book Club Pick and Sunday Times Bestseller

Two cultures. Two families. Two people. Yasmin Ghorami has a lot to be grateful for: a loving family, a fledgling career in medicine, and a charming, handsome fiancée, fellow doctor Joe Sangster. But as the wedding day draws closer and Yasmin's parents get to know Joe's firebrand feminist mother, both families must confront the unravelling […]

Control: The Dark History and Troubling Present of Eugenics

Throughout history, people have sought to improve society by reducing suffering, eliminating disease or enhancing desirable qualities in their children. But this wish goes hand in hand with the desire to impose control over who can marry, who can procreate and who is permitted to live. In the Victorian era, in the shadow of Darwin's […]

Ugly

We've all had those moments. The ones where you look in the mirror and nothing feels ok looking back at you. For Anita Bhagwandas, this started when she was a child growing up in South Wales, and it created an enduring internal torment about her looks. We're all told that this sadness is just part […]

Brown Girl Like Me: The Essential Guidebook and Manifesto for South Asian Girls and Women

Brown Girl Like Me is an inspiring memoir and empowering manifesto that equips women with the confidence and tools they need to navigate the difficulties that come with an intersectional identity. Jaspreet Kaur unpacks key issues such as the media, the workplace, the home, education, mental health, culture, confidence and the body, to help South […]

Wild Fires: The most powerful and unmissable literary debut of 2022

Grief is like an inside joke: you have to have been there to really get it. The only things Cassandra knows about her family are the stories she’s heard in snatches over the years: about the aunt and cousin she never got to meet, about the man from the folded-up photograph in one of her […]

Good Intentions

An unforgettable debut novel about first love, family obligation and finding your way. As Nur’s family counts down to midnight on New Year’s Eve, Nur is watching the clock more closely than most: he has made a pact with himself, and with his girlfriend, Yasmina, that at midnight he will finally tell his Pakistani parents […]

A Pebble In The Throat: Growing Up Between Two Continents

A Pebble In My Throat is two stories told in unison. Aasmah Mir growing up in Glasgow - the place of her birth - and the upbringing of her mother in Pakistan a generation before. It is an emotional and thought-provoking narrative on what it is like to live in two very different cultures whilst […]

Her

You watch her. You want to be just like her. But do you really know her? Rani's life is far from idyllic – with two small children and a partner in a tiny rented flat that has never felt like home, she has always wished for a different life. Then, Natalie moves into the large […]

Note: We use Amazon affiliate links and earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. This goes back into the running of Asian Booklist.